1. Home >
  2. Politics & Government >
  3. Law Enforcement & Police >
  4. Resolved Question
Richard Chan Richard Chan
Member since:
01 January 2007
Total points:
2780 (Level 4)

Resolved Question

Show me another »

My Mum Received this Email Threatening to cripple her, What should I do?

My Mum Received this Threatening Email Below.

There is a Link attached to it, I Copied the Link into Mozilla running no script so I would get a Virus on my PC.
the link leads to a Arab looking guy with his arm around a naked blonde girl which I have never seen before.

I Think this is probably Spam
My Mum is nearly 65 and we have no idea who would send this too us & why if this my genuine.


>>From: <reneg@vivid.net>
>>X-OriginalArrivalTime: Mon, 21 Apr 2008 01:58:46 +0200.480 (UTC)
>>FILETIME=[41F19057:LRXkH]
>>To: ( My Mums email Address )
>>Subject: gone to hospital !
>>Date: Mon, 21 Apr 2008 01:58:46 +0200
>>X-Antivirus: AVG for E-mail 7.5.524 [269.23.2/1387]


>>Hello, (My Mums 2nd Name)


>>Listen to me carefully, i don't know what your name is, but i'll
>>find you and i'll cripple you, because this is you who tempted her!!!
>>She has already gone to hospital, you're next, this is
>>evidence: http://sofia.dkz.info/d
  • 2 years ago

Additional Details

My mums 2nd name is her email Address also

2 years ago

Patrick B by Patrick B
Member since:
21 April 2008
Total points:
122 (Level 1)

Best Answer - Chosen by Asker

This is SPAM. I received the same one.

Tell you mum she can rest easy. No one is out to get her.
At least, no one is trying to physically hurt her, but like most SPAMMERS, they do want to get at her wallet. The best defense is for you or others to let her know how to be vigilant.

Unfortunately, law enforcement is not well equipped to help with this kind of thing. Too little $$$ and too little help from ISP's.
  • 2 years ago
Asker's Rating:
5 out of 5
Asker's Comment:
Yeah I Googled part of the Email & found out this was spam straight after posting this.. LOL

There are currently no comments for this question.

Other Answers (8)

  • Rick J by Rick J
    Member since:
    02 July 2007
    Total points:
    5744 (Level 5)
    Ignore it.

    Or buy a wheelchair :-)
    • 2 years ago
  • afqt4816 by afqt4816
    Member since:
    08 April 2006
    Total points:
    1952 (Level 3)
    Report, report, report it ,print it out and yes it is evidence!
    • 2 years ago
  • Fireproof Revolution by Fireproof Revolution
    Member since:
    14 March 2008
    Total points:
    449 (Level 2)
    Wow, thats a pretty scary e-mail! If you havent contacted police, or any kind of law enforcement or government agency I would definitely consider doing that because there are many crazy people out there and you never know if that person could be telling the truth or not. Most likely its just a fake, or prank, but you never want to take a threat lightly. I would see what the police could do about it. Maybe trace the e-mail address or something. Also if you or your mum dont have a gun in your house I would definitely consider buying one just in case for protection. A shotgun would be good because you dont have to have good aim to shoot it. Also you can get a shotgun for not too expensive if you get the right brand. I really wish you good luck with that, and will keep you and your mum in my prayers.
    • 2 years ago
  • thunder2sys by thunder2...
    Member since:
    02 June 2006
    Total points:
    58119 (Level 7)
    You've got the person's email address, so why not report it so it can be investigated? why would you first come to an anonymous website to get help or information?
    • 2 years ago
  • steve g by steve g
    Member since:
    27 November 2006
    Total points:
    2753 (Level 4)
    As has been indicated, this is a spam email that's been sent out and received all over the world - we've seen it in North America and I read a blog post by an Australian who got it too.

    So this "threat" is not targeted at anyone in particular. Just delete the email and do NOT click on any website address included in the message.

    FYI and according to Whois information, the dkz.info domain is owned by someone in the Ukraine and hosted in the UK.

    And the domain was registered just over 3 years ago by its current owner, so I'd be willing to bet their website has been hacked.

    The Whois information page is indicated as my "source' below.

    Hope that helps. :-)

    Source(s):

    • 2 years ago
  • Poly Amnesia by Poly Amnesia
    Member since:
    22 April 2008
    Total points:
    280 (Level 2)
    I work in a Help Desk with over 5,000 clients- we have seen this SPAM also. It is not a true threat. It is amazing how mean and scary some spam can be.
    Do not open the link. Delete it.

    Source(s):

    Seen it go around to others, this is non-specific.
    • 2 years ago
  • ArtsyGuy83 by ArtsyGuy...
    Member since:
    20 August 2007
    Total points:
    258 (Level 2)
    This is indeed spam. I just received the exact same email today.

    As far as i can tell, the website itself is safe... but i still would never advise opening a website of which is from a curious source.

    Just delete and move on.
    • 2 years ago
  • Whitey by Whitey
    Member since:
    24 April 2008
    Total points:
    117 (Level 1)
    I've seen 2 instances of this same email where I work in the past few days. The 'from' address is spoofed, a series of alpha-numeric characters that mean nothing & the domain name (the bit after the @ symbol) wasn't the same in these 2 either, but the content is similar. Not sure if the wording was exactly the same, but the threat to cripple was there & asking that they click on the link for the evidence. I advised the users to delete the mail. The hyperlink in the mails did not contain the essential 'www' characters that would indicate that it's part of the World Wide Web either.

    Bottom line: If you don't know who the mail's from don't open it, and NEVER, EVER click on a hyperlink in a mail.

    Whitey
    • 2 years ago

Answers International

Yahoo!Xtra does not evaluate or guarantee the accuracy of any Yahoo!Xtra Answers content. Click here for the Full Disclaimer.

Help us improve Yahoo!Xtra Answers. Tell us what you think.